Morton 0 - 0 St. Mirren

Morton 0-0 St Mirren

(St Mirren win 4-3 on penalties)

St Mirren won their fifth consecutive Renfrewshire Cup with a penalty victory at Cappielow after the 90 minutes ended goalless and went straight to spot-kicks.

The Ton had Kevin Cuthbert, who appears to be Allan Moore's second choice goalkeeper at the moment, to thank for sending the match to spot-kicks after he denied Steven Thomson, Steven Robb, Michael Higdon, Craig Dargo and Darren McGregor with a series of impressive stops.

However, the Buddies' Scotland internationalist goalkeeper Paul Gallacher was also in impressive form and saved efforts from Peter Weatherson and Michael Tidser.

New St Mirren boss Danny Lennon had come in for some criticsm from opposition fans for his decision to sign four players from previous club Cowdenbeath - but I actually thought that Paul McQuade and Darren McGregor were two of the better performers on the night.

Also of interest was the introductions of ex-Morton players David van Zanten and Paul McGowan as second half substitutes. McGowan, whose goals helped fire Morton to the Second Division title in 2006/07 while on loan from Celtic, was greeted by a loud boo from the home support, although I have been told that there was also a smattering of applause from some fans in the Cowshed.

And McGowan expressed his disappointment with the reception after the match, saying: "I was a bit disappointed with the fans. I was a young boy when I was here, which seems a lifetime ago, and I thought I did well.

"I learned a lot coming here, but in terms of my career I obviously want to be playing in the SPL.

"But that's fans for you, isn't it?"

McGowan had the last laugh when he tucked away his penalty and St Mirren won the shoot-out 4-3 when captain John Potter stroked home after Graeme Holmes and Kevin Kelbie missed for Morton.

Penalty sequence: Holmes (missed), Higdon (scored), Monti (scored), van Zanten (missed), Kelbie (missed), Brady (scored), Tidser (scored), McGowan (scored), Smyth (scored), Potter (scored).

Morton (4-4-2):

1. Kevin Cuthbert - 8
2. David MacGregor - 7
3. Kevin McKinlay - 7
4. Marc Smyth - 7
5. Grant Evans - 6
6. Michael Tidser (c) - 6
7. Graeme Holmes - 6
8. Fouad Bachirou - 7
9. Peter Weatherson - 6 (14. Allan Jenkins, 81)
10. Stewart Kean - 6 (15. Kevin Kelbie, 72)
11. David O'Brien - 6 (12. Carlo Monti, 72)

Subs not used:

16. Neil MacFarlane
17. Nathan Shepherd
20. Colin Stewart

MacGregor Smyth Evans McKinlay
Holmes Bachirou Tidser O'Brien
Kean Weatherson

St Mirren (4-4-2): Gallacher 8; Barron 7, Potter 7, McAusland 7 (Brady 90+2, 1), Travner 7; Thomson 6, McGregor 8, Murray 7 (van Zanten 72, 3), Robb 6 (McGowan 82, 3); McQuade 7 (Dargo 63, 4), Higdon 8.

Subs not used: Lynch, Wardlaw, Love, Samson (gk).

Referee: Stevie O'Reilly

Attendance: 3,422

My man of the match: Kevin Cuthbert

Greenock Telegraph - Match Report (28.07.2010)

saintmirren.net - match report

No comments: