Weatherson Misses Out on Player of the Year Award

Brechin City's Iain Russell (left) beat Morton pair Paul McGowan and Peter Weatherson to be crowned SPFA 2nd Division Player of the Year on Sunday night.

I watched the awards on Setanta fully expecting Peter Weatherson to get the award and was astonished when Alex Smith read out Russell's name. To be fair I think Russell was even surprised and admitted as much in his acceptance speech.

Peter must be gutted as in most people's opinions (and probably his own) he definitely deserved the award. At the end of the day it's hard to argue too much when the award is voted for by his fellow professionals and Russell has scored 22 goals in approximately 25 starts so far - but I'd still say Weatherson deserved it.

Another blow for Morton came when it turned out manager Jim McInally wasn't actually nominated for the manager of the year award. A story on the BBC Sport website last week claimed that he was nominated.

The one bright spot for Morton was that 5 of our players made the 2nd Division team of the year : Paul Mathers, Peter Weatherson, Stewart Greacen, Jamie Stevenson and Paul McGowan.

No comments: