Player Awards

Stewart Greacen is having a fantastic season for Morton and has been tipped as the favourite for many of the supporters' player of the year awards - so it was no surprise that he has added both the February and March greenockmortonfc.blogspot.com player of the month awards to the one he'd already secured in January to make it three-in-a-row.

In February the Ton captain (pictured, above left) won 37% of the vote (17 out of 45 votes). His closest rival was Allan Jenkins who won 17% (8 /45) while Erik Paartalu, Kevin Finlayson and Peter Weatherson all shared third place with each receiving 8% of the votes (4/45).

The March poll was a much closer affair. Again Stewart pipped Jenkins to the award but by just 3 votes this time. Greacen won 30% of the vote (13 out of 42 votes) while Jenks won 23% (10 /42). Allan McManus - my personal choice - came third with 16% (7/42).

February's full results:

Stewart Greacen - 17 (37%)
Allan Jenkins - 8 (17%)
Peter Weatherson - 4 (8%)
Kevin Finlayson - 4 (8%)
Erik Paartalu - 4 (8%)
Brian Wake - 3 (6%)
Dominic Shimmin - 2 (4%)
Chris Smith - 1 (2%)
Ryan McGuffie - 1 (2%)
Jim McAlister - 1 (2%)

March's full results:

Stewart Greacen - 13 (30%)
Allan Jenkins - 10 (23%)
Allan McManus - 7 (16%)
Kevin Cuthbert - 3 (7%)
Peter Weatherson - 3 (7%)
Stevie Masterton - 2 (4%)
Jim McAlister - 2 (4%)
Ryan McGuffie - 1 (2%)
James Grady - 1 (2%)

Fans also have the opportunity to pick their player of the year by sending in their votes to the Greenock Telegraph - who have decided to resurrect their Sir William Lithgow player of the year award this season.

According to Roger Graham the award "lapsed during the tenure of the previous owner of the club."

You can vote by sending in your choice to:

Sports Desk
Greenock Telegraph
2 Crawfurd Street
PA15 1LH

Wednesday's Tele' included a form to fill out and send in (pictured, below) but I'm not sure if your choice needs to be sent in on one of those or can simply be written on a piece of paper but I do know any votes must reach the Tele office by the 4th of May as the award will be presented to the winning player before the Ross County match on the 9th of May.

Greenock Telegraph - Vote For Your Ton Player Of The Year (15.04.2009)

No comments: